The state of Michigan takes driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI or OWI) very seriously. If you are convicted of a DUI, you may spend time in jail, lose your driver’s license, and be sentenced to community service. You may also incur substantial financial costs.
There are a number of financial consequences associated with a DUI/OWI conviction in Michigan. As an initial matter, you will be required to pay a fine of $500 to $10,000, depending on the facts of your case. You may also be on the hook for court costs, the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), alcohol education costs, and increased insurance premiums.
At Mas/Stig-Nielsen, we have substantial experience representing individuals who have been charged with all types of offenses related to driving under the influence. We work hard to help our clients understand the potential outcome of a DUI/OWI conviction, and fight to help them achieve the best possible resolution. Reach out to schedule a consultation with a skilled Traverse City DUI lawyer.
Initial Michigan DUI Costs
If you are convicted of DUI in Michigan, you will be required to pay a fine as part of your sentence. This fine ranges from $500 for a first-offense DUI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) under 0.17 to up to $5,000 for a third-offense OWI. For a DUI/OWI that causes death, that fine may be as much as $10,000.
In addition to the fine imposed by the court, you will have other immediate costs for a DUI conviction. This may include:
- Court costs: up to $1,500
- Bond: $185 to $5,000
- Alcohol education classes: up to $200
- Ignition interlock device costs: $100 to $200 for installation, plus monthly rental fees of $75 to $100 and regular calibration and maintenance fees
- License restoration fee: $125 for a first-offense DUI, or more if you have multiple DUI offenses
In addition to these costs, you will also be required to pay attorney’s fees if you hire a Traverse City DUI defense lawyer to handle your case. Altogether, you may pay over $3,000 just in initial costs for a first-time DUI/OWI conviction in Michigan.
Long-Term DUI Costs
Of course, getting a DUI doesn’t just mean money out of your pocket in the short term. It can also have a number of consequences over time. Some of these expenses can be hard to predict – like the cost of losing your job if your employer requires you to have a valid Michigan driver’s license as a condition of employment. If you hold a professional license, getting a DUI could also lead to disciplinary action.
Having a suspended or revoked license can affect you in other ways as well. If your license is suspended, then you may have difficulty getting to work or to school. This can have a serious impact on both your current and future earning potential. You may also need to spend money on rideshares or public transportation if you lost your license due to a DUI/OWI conviction. You may also miss out on opportunities while attending alcohol education classes or completing your community service.
When you do get your license back, your insurance rates will be significantly higher. Typically, high-risk insurance costs about 20% more than regular car insurance, and you must carry high-risk insurance for three years after a conviction. A DUI conviction could end up costing you $1,500 per year – or more – for those three years.
Hiring an experienced Traverse City DUI attorney can help you avoid some of the long-term consequences of a DUI. A lawyer can often negotiate a more favorable deal that protects you from some of these harsher penalties. They can also put together a strong defense to try to convince a jury that you were not driving under the influence – and ask them to return a not guilty verdict.
Charged with a DUI? We Can Help.
Getting a DUI is embarrassing and stressful. It can also be incredibly expensive, both in the short term and for the coming years. Fortunately, you don’t just have to plead guilty to a DUI charge.
At Mas/Stig-Nielsen, we aggressively advocate for clients who are facing DUI charges. We have experience with all types of DUIs, from first-time DUIs to “super drunk” OWI charges to DUI accidents. To learn more or to schedule a consultation with a Traverse City DUI defense attorney, give us a call at (866) 985-4287 or fill out our online contact form.